June 16, 2018

41st Gaward Urian Winner: Balangiga, Abra, Joanna Ampil and Odette Khan

6/16/2018 02:50:00 PM

Underground hip hop film “Respeto” bested all films at the 41st Gawad Urian with four wins, including Best Actor for rapper Abra in its awards night held last Thursday (June 14) at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent in Quezon City.

Abra, who garnered his first lead acting award, thanked the music community for joining him in the film. “This would not be complete if not for my family from the hip hop community,” he said.

“Respeto” also earned Best Supporting Actor for Dido de la Paz, Best Editing for Lawrence Ang, and Best Sound for Corrine de San Jose.

The Best Picture award went to “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness,” the wartime drama set in 1901 featuring a child who flees town with his grandfather to escape a burn and kill order, produced by Achinette Villamor, Edong Canlas, and Khavn.

The musical “Ang Larawan” earned Best Production Design for Gino Gonzales and Best Actress for Joanna Ampil, while Odette Khan of “Bar Boys” won Best Supporting Actress.


Arnel Barbarona of “Tu Pug Imatuy,” who was hailed as Best Director, dedicated the award to the Lumads of Mindanao. “Their struggles are very much our struggles. If they lose their lands, we lose our identity,” he said in his acceptance speech.

Full list:  41st Gawad Urian winners
Best Film: “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness”
Best Actress: Joanna Ampil, “Ang Larawan”
Best Actor: Abra, “Respeto”
Best Director: Arnel Barbarona, “Tu Pug Imatuy”
Best Supporting Actress: Odette Khan, “Bar Boys”
Best Supporting Actor: Dido de la Paz, “Respeto”
Best Screenplay: Christopher Gozum, “Dapol Tan Payawar Na Tayug 1931”
Best Cinematography: Mycko David, “Neomanila”
Best Production Design: Gino Gonzales, “Ang Larawan
Best Editing: Lawrence Ang, “Respeto”.
Best Music: Khavn, “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness”
Best Sound: Corrine de San Jose, “Respeto”
Best Documentary: Victor Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu, “Yield”
Best Short Film: Kiri Dalena, “Gikan Sa Ngitngit Nga Kinailadman” (From the Dark Depths)
Natatanging Gawad Urian: Winston Raval (Vanishing Tribe)

This year’s Urian awards night highlighted original Filipino music (OPM) featuring songs from the films “Ang Larawan” performed by Rachel Alejandro and Joanna, “Changing Partners” sang by Klarisse de Guzman and Sandino Martin, and “Respeto” staged by Abra and Loonie. Darren Espanto, Jason Dy, and Janine Berdin also opened the show with an exciting OPM performance.

The Natatanging Gawad Urian award went to musician Winston Raval of Vanishing Tribe, a musical director, composer, and arranger who scored music for over 20 movies in four decades, including “Himala.”

“Kita Kita” stars Empoy Marquez and Alessandra de Rossi hosted the show with Butch Francisco, a member of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino.

The winners were chosen by the Manunuri composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema led by its president Rolando Tolentino together with members Butch, Grace Javier Alfonso, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, Patrick Campos, Shirley Lua, and Gary Devilles.

Catch the replay of the 41st Gawad Urian on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) on Saturday (June 16) at 11pm. For more details, like Cinema One’s official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/Cinema1channel).

Written by

We are Creative Blogger Theme Wavers which provides user friendly, effective and easy to use themes. Each support has free and providing HD support screen casting.


© 2013 SBNLifestyle. All rights resevered. Designed by Templateism

Back To Top